Boards, Commissions & Committees

Serving as a volunteer member of one of the Parks and Recreation Department’s Boards and Commissions is one of the best ways for residents to have an active voice in local government. The Department and City Council relies on the input provided by these advisory committees to establish policies on various issues. Members of Boards and Commissions are appointed to terms by City Council. Applications to serve are welcome and should be addressed to the mayor. One can be obtained from the link above or by calling (937) 847-6456. Appointments are generally made in December for the following year. Current Boards and Commissions include:

Citizens Urban Forestry Advisory Board

The purpose of the Citizens Urban Forestry Board (CUFAB) is to promote and protect the public health, safety, and general welfare of planting, preservation, maintenance, and removal of trees, shrubs, and other plants within the City of Miamisburg.


Jim Bornhorst – Chair

Robert Bates

Rusty Leifheit

Michael Gray

Michelle Trimbur

Amy Ratcliffe

Carole Ouderkirk

John Woods

City Beautification Commission

The Purpose of the City Beautification Commission (CBC) is to promote the physical and landscape improvement of residential and business properties in the city and to involve the Miamisburg citizens in this endeavor.


Sherry Barrett

Laura Bornhorst

Annie Gilkison

Rita Miller

Wilma Nicholas

Carole Parlette

Judy Stamm

Jane McGriff

Joellyn Bashford

Ed Garrett

Jenny Butcher

Cynthia Morgan

Pam Stewart

Karl Zimmerman

Tom Zimpfer

Parks and Recreation Advisory Board

The purpose of the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board is to provide the City of Miamisburg staff, Mayor and City Council input regarding park, recreational, educational, social, historical and cultural services offered to the community. Board members also act

as Ambassadors for the City by soliciting input from the community and by education its citizens regard the services provided by the Parks and Recreation Department.


Alex Schroeder – Chair

Megan Cole – Vice-Chair

Andy Alford

Keith Basinger

Kelly Brown

Gail Fink

Kelly Lee Marker

Shannon Rupert

Mike Tuttle

Paige McElroy – Student Representative

Boards and Commission

The Parks and Recreation Advisory Board has established sub-committees with varying areas of focus. Sub-committees are listed below:

Adaptive Recreation – focused on expanding recreational opportunities for disabled members of the community and their family.

Bike Friendly Community – focused on safe cycling education and expanding cycling programs and events.

Community Garden – focused on initiating, developing and maintaining gardens for cultivation and education.

Cultural Arts – focused on initiating a dialogue about art in the community and creating a culture of art appreciation in the community and creating a culture of art appreciation in Miamisburg.

Golf – focused on golf course operations and programming opportunities.

Outdoor Recreation – focused on initiatives that foster interactions with nature through education and recreation.

Older Adult Recreation – focused on connecting older adults with community through recreational and educational opportunities.

U.S. Military Veterans – focused on engaging our veterans and developing a culture of appreciation for our country’s service members.

Youth Development – focused on expanding youth recreation services to meet the growing needs of the community.

Miamisburg Baseball Softball League (MBSL) – focused on connecting players, parents and community members while creating a culture of appreciation for the sport.

If you are interested in getting involved in one of these sub-committees, please click here for a Parks and Recreation Advisory Board Sub-Committee Application.

Participant Committee Advisory Board

Elected by the members, the Participant Committee is an advisory board that meets monthly with Parks and Recreation staff to provide feedback on the Senior Adult Club programming.